Skip to main content

Reply to this post | See parent post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: ofp_857 Date: Aug 27, 2009 7:07pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: How bad have I screwed up ?

Hey Hippie,

fenario80's advice is great, but I thought I would toss an alternative your way just for the hell of it...

Right click on the file in uTorrent that is showing the error, and then just press the delete key. That will remove the torrent from your utorrent client.

Then, go find the original bit-torrent file, (*.torrent) you downloaded, (the one that initiated the download with uTorrent, not the file you wanted to download) dbl click on it, and that will start the torrent up again in uTorrent. If you are using Vista, the *.torrent files are kept in the

\Users\"Username"\AppData\Roaming\uTorrent

directory. In XP the *.torrent files are in the directory found at

\Documents and Settings\"username"\Application Data\uTorrent

If you cannot locate those directories, just search for *.torrent and you should find them.

Hope that helps!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: hippie64 Date: Aug 27, 2009 8:38pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: How bad have I screwed up ?

Hot Damn ofp it friggin worked Sweeeeeetttttt

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: dead-head_Monte Date: Aug 28, 2009 10:24am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: How bad have I screwed up ?

utorrent_logo.png

swarm

dead-head_Monte-swarm-big.jpg

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: ofp_857 Date: Aug 27, 2009 8:47pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: How bad have I screwed up ?

Glad I could help!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: hippie64 Date: Aug 27, 2009 8:52pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: How bad have I screwed up ?

One last thing to make sure I understand utorrent can only seed and upload as long as it remains open correct? When I close the program it can no longer preform those funtions ?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: fenario80 Date: Aug 27, 2009 9:01pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: How bad have I screwed up ?

That is my understanding, but I've never checked it. You can check it yourself if you note what the share ratios are before you close and then after you re-open it.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: ofp_857 Date: Aug 27, 2009 9:32pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: How bad have I screwed up ?

Right. However, if you have the uTorrent "maximized" on your desktop, and then click on the "X" on the upper right-hand corner the program just minimizes back down to an icon in the lower right of your screen in the tool bar.

You can also control the speed of your download and upload. Right-click on the file name you are downloading/seeding in the uTorrent client, and a window will appear with options. You can choose "Bandwidth Allocation" and change the settings on the fly. You can even change the priority.

I have a really lousy connection where I live. (A ranch in California) What I usually do is set my download to high priority, and restrict the upload as much as possible. That way I can get the file a tad faster. Once I have the file I make the upload a high priority, set it to "unlimited" bandwidth, and let it set for a while.

uTorrent is a pretty good client for bit-torrents, and it's easy to configure, so play with it a little. If you are comfortable with opening ports on your router, check what port you are using in uTorrent under "Options" then "Speed Guide", and test it to see if the port is open. If not, uTorrent can send you to a site that will help you open the port, and then you will see a great improvement on download and upload bandwidth speed.

Good luck!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: ofp_857 Date: Aug 27, 2009 9:53pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: How bad have I screwed up ?

I forgot, I wanted to say that, yes, as long as uTorrent is open, and you haven't deleted the file you want to seed from the uTorrent list, it will continue to seed under the conditions you set, or the default conditions if you don't change anything. You can see how things are going by using the tabs under the main file window. (General, Trackers, Peers, Pieces, Files, Speed, and Logger)

And don't worry if someone "bans" you when you check out "logger". I think some clients allow automatic bans depending on the settings your client has. So, don't take a ban personally. :)